Unofficial eMachines Forums

Discussion about eMachines Notebooks and Desktops
The time is Fri Oct 24, 2014 4:18 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 Posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: upgrade for t6410
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:03 am
Posts: 4
does anyone have any recommendations for a graphics card upgrade for a t6410? I currently have the stock card in there...
I am not necessarily a gamer but will need some gaming cabalities... also to play dvds, streaming video etc...
also am i going to have to install a power source?
thanks

i was considering these...
x1550
x1650pro
hd 2600xt
hd 2600pro

here is my current specs:

CPU: AMD Athlon™ 64 3200+ Processor (512KB L2 cache, 2.2GHz, 1600MHz FSB)
Operating System: Genuine Microsoft® Windows® XP Home (SP2)

Chipset: ATI RS480
Memory: 2 x 512MB DDR (400MHz)
Expandable to 2GB
Hard Drive: 160GB + 400GB External HD
Optical Drive: 16x DVD±RW multi-format double layer
Media Reader: 8-in-1 digital media manager
Secure Digital™ (SD), Smart Media, Compact Flash, Micro Drive, Memory Stick®, Memory Stick PRO, Multimedia Card, USB 2.0
Video: ATI Radeon® Xpress 200 (PCI-Express® )
128MB DDR shared video memory
Sound: AC '97 audio, Dolby 5.1 (6-channel)
Network: 10/100Mbps Integrated Ethernet LAN
Modem: 56K ITU V.92-ready Fax/Modem
Peripherals: Standard multimedia keyboard, 2-Button wheel mouse, amplified stereo speakers
Ports/Other: 7 USB 2.0 (2 in front; 4 in back; 1 in Media Reader), 1 IEEE 1394 port (in back), 1 VGA external connector, 1 Parallel, 2 PS/2 (keyboard and mouse)


Last edited by joediscus on Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total

 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: upgrade for t6410
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:45 am 
Offline
Global Moderator

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:41 pm
Posts: 189
First thing we need to know is how much you are willing to spend and if you are going to be upgrading the Power supply also-most of the newer cards require additional power connections. Out of the cards you listed- the HD 2600 XT would probably work the best.You could probably get away with the stock PSU--maybe-maybe not.

_________________
Emachine T6216 3200+(RIP)
NZXT Apollo
Phenom II x2 555 @ 3.6
Asus 4A77TD ATX Motherboard
OCZ Modstream600W psu
4 GB A-data DDR3 1333 ram
Asus 9600 GSO/TOP 384mb
AC Freezer 64
Image


 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: upgrade for t6410
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:03 am
Posts: 4
I would like to keep the vid card under 60 bucks although i could spend more if it had to... seems like that's possible from what I've seen so far... I don't need the best.. but good would do.. but of course I would like the most bang for my buck... yep i will upgrade my power supply to if i have to.. e-machines indicated that i should have to.. to something like a 6 pin connector?


 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: upgrade for t6410
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:27 pm 
Offline
Global Moderator

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:41 pm
Posts: 189
OK-here's my thoughts for you-video card-for less than $60-http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131057- ATI HD 2600 XT-59.99-for the power supply-http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371019 Antec Basiq 500W-29.99 w free shippingshould work well for you,even has a PCI-express adapter if you decide to get a different card later on-or one that needs the extra power. I don't think the 2600 needs extra power though.

_________________
Emachine T6216 3200+(RIP)
NZXT Apollo
Phenom II x2 555 @ 3.6
Asus 4A77TD ATX Motherboard
OCZ Modstream600W psu
4 GB A-data DDR3 1333 ram
Asus 9600 GSO/TOP 384mb
AC Freezer 64
Image


 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: upgrade for t6410
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 10:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:03 am
Posts: 4
thanks craneop,
looks like a great deal... i appreciate the help... also i am running 2 512 ram cards... it says it can go 2g's.. do you think it would be worth it to upgrade to 2 1gb's.. when i first got the computer it only came with 1 x 512 card and the e-machines rep i spoke to stated that for some reason it wouldn't matter too much if i had 2 gb or 1gb.. not sure why that would be or maybe he was stating that for what i had told him i intended to use it for.. don't remember.. but i wouldn't mind loading the ram up.. what do you think would that help with video lag issues as well?
thanks


 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: upgrade for t6410
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:55 am 
Offline
Global Moderator

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:41 pm
Posts: 189
It never hurts to add more ram-here's a good buy right now-http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820178101-Adding the video card will also help with the lag as it will free up 128MB of your system memory-so you will be able to use all 1 GB( or 1024 MB) of memory instead of the system having 896 MB of available ram. If it were me-I'd try the video card first and if it didn't perform better, then opt for more ram to boost performance.

_________________
Emachine T6216 3200+(RIP)
NZXT Apollo
Phenom II x2 555 @ 3.6
Asus 4A77TD ATX Motherboard
OCZ Modstream600W psu
4 GB A-data DDR3 1333 ram
Asus 9600 GSO/TOP 384mb
AC Freezer 64
Image


 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: upgrade for t6410
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:03 am
Posts: 4
okay thanks I'll do that... I appreciate all of your help


 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: upgrade for t6410
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 2:34 pm 
Offline
Gold Member

Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 3:21 pm
Posts: 3
Hi I'm going to piggy back on this thread cause I too have a t6410 and want to upgrade the power supply and graphics card(plus my hard drive but I did that before). I just want to know if you had a little more in the budget(I say in the range of $250-$300) what you recommend as far a power supply/graphics card upgrade.


 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: upgrade for t6410
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 3:32 pm 
Offline
Gold Member

Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Posts: 774
I am not sure what graphics slot you have but from the previous posts, it seems its a PCI-e x 16. If so then you have a lot to choose from for $300. If you reside in the states, then check out NewEgg and possibly TigerDirect and ZipZoomFly. I would first start with the Egg since they have excellent service. Unless you expect to go gonzo on graphics in the future (like swap out your motherboard for one with SLI (I think DFI makes a mATX board with SLI) and get something like 2 x nVidia GTX 280, you will probably be fine with a power supply around 550 - 650 watts. Check out manufacturers like Seasonic, Corsair, Antec, FSP, Enermax to name a few. Craneop seems to have found good performance from the new Raidmax PSUs as well. This should cost somewhere between $60 - $100 depending on what you get.

For graphics, if you have $150 - $200, you can get some decent cards. For nVidia you can actually get something like a 9800GTX or a GTX 260, for ATI you can get something like a HD 4850. These are very high end cards and can play even the most recent games quite well.

If you don't need that sort of power, you can get a decent 9800GT or a HD 4830 for like $120.

In any case, shop around, read some forums and decide what you would like to get. You can use Hardocp, jonnyguru, and silentpcreview for reviews of PSUs. As for video cards, you can find reviews everywhere.

Good luck

_________________
Daughter's E T2862 (Dark Attitude): AMD A64 X2 3800+ - Foxconn 6150K8MA - GSkill 2GbNL - WD 500Gb - LiteOn DVD - Silverstone ST400W - Noctua NHU9 - Antec 900 (mildly modded)


 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 Posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2002, 2006 phpBB Group